Timely Wisdom

One powerful way to evoke compassion is to think of others as exactly the same as you. “After all,” the Dalai Lama explains, “all human beings are the same—made of human flesh, bones, and blood. We all want happiness and want to avoid suffering. Further, we have an equal right to be happy. In other words, it is important to realize our sameness as human beings.”

Watch Jon Kabat-Zinn, founder of the Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Program (MBSR) speak about stopping all our “doing” and “being,” as an act of self compassion within our modern culture’s stressful lifestyle.

2 responses to “Timely Wisdom

  1. Hi Allan,

    As you might guess, I do live a relatively stress free life. We coaches seem to get that mindfulness is both a practice and a gift. Just about everything is centered on awareness. As I watched this video I was happy to see that I do not live the stressful life he was describing. Bet you don’t either. Blessings.

  2. Aloha Tom,

    Thank you for your comment. It is a blessing to know you are following my blog. I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoy following your blog “Delightful Work.”

    I agree everything is centered on mindful awareness. It is not easy for any of us to cultivate it, especially in this society, and live stress free. Jon Kabat-Zinn says, “Cultivating moment-to-moment mindfulness is the hardest personal development work on the planet.”

    While we are fortunate not to live the stressful life Jon was describing, as coaches and mindfulness practitioners, we are always being tested. When I get stressed, as it is our human nature, people sometimes ask me, “How come you are stressed? I thought you were a mindfulness coach? I lightheartedly respond by reminding them policemen get tickets, doctors get sick, and stress reduction coaches…can get stressed!
    Best, Allan

Leave a Reply

